top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel

8 Reasons why I choose the 6 am yoga class (and why you should too!)

1) No traffic.

Enough said.


2) Ample parking available.

How many times have you driven to the studio to attend your favorite class just to find that, yet again, there is no parking available nearby? This is not uncommon in popular Seattle areas such as Green Lake, and I admit that I have spent so much time driving around trying to find parking that I actually missed the class. Not a problem for the early class…you can park right in front of the studio. Also, meter parking often doesn’t start until 8am, so parking is free!



3) Less excuses to skip your practice.

As the day goes on, there are so many opportunities for us to skip our practice…we are tired, had a busy day, friends want to meet for happy hour, etc. Practicing first thing in the morning eliminates many of those barriers, which leads me to my next point…


4) Frees up time in the evening

Especially this time of year, there is more time to enjoy the weather. No need to waste precious Seattle sunshine when you have already completed your practice in the early hours of the morning! In addition, I prefer the evenings to spend time with my husband and fur baby.


5) Sets a healthy tone for the rest of the day

Starting your day with yoga often leads to a cascade of healthy choices for the rest of the day ranging from choosing nourishing foods to heading to bed a little bit earlier. Which now that we mentioned that…


6) Improves my sleep schedule

I used to be such a night owl…almost fighting sleep much like a toddler would even though I was not doing anything productive in those late hours of the night. Now that I’m up at 5 am twice a week, I am much more disciplined about getting adequate sleep.


7) No packed classes

It’s a rare breed that is able to get up early and function while the sun is still rising, so classes are often not as packed as in the evenings. This means more space to really open up wide without concern for invading other students’ space. In addition, it creates more opportunity to individualize the class to student requests as well as using additional props and wall space.


8) A sense of accomplishment before I even get to work

Again, enough said.


Join me for Sunrise Flow at OmCulture Green Lake on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6 am to 7 am (http://www.omculture.com/greenlake-schedule)



30 views0 comments
bottom of page